Wisconsin Municipalities Getting SolSmart

Congratulations to seven Wisconsin municipalities that have achieved recognition under US DOE’s SolSmart designation program. They worked, with assistance from an MREA advisor, to make it easier, less expensive and faster to install solar on local homes and businesses by streamlining permitting, inspections and zoning. They can choose to work on utility engagement, public engagement, market development and finance too. SolSmart communities attract solar and economic development and help create new jobs.

Communities can achieve Bronze, Silver or Gold SolSmart designation. Bronze designation was earned by La Crosse County and the City of Sheboygan. Silver designees are Cities of La Crosse and Wauwatosa, and the Villages of Egg Harbor and Plover. The City of Stevens Point received a gold designation.  The City of Racine and Portage County are working toward their designations presently. Other Wisconsin SolSmart communities include Wisconsin Rapids (Gold), Wauwatosa (Silver), Ashland (Silver) and Bayfield cities and counties (Bronze), and the City of Fitchburg (Bronze).  MREA